Now that it’s the end of December, it’s starting to get cold here in central North Carolina. We have had a few cold days here and there, but it doesn’t really get cold here until January now. Blue cold.

So how do you get ready for really cold weather?  I layer my beds with blankets, lots of blankets. Especially fur ones.  I have family members that tease me because I love fur.  I prefer faux fur because I hate the thought of an animal losing it’s life over a blanket!

Here’s our Master.  Every year in the Fall, I change over to this burgundy velvet coverlette over 2 comforters!  And then I have a faux fur king size blanket and another faux fur throw at the end to put over my feet when watching TV. And I just found these faux fur pillow covers for $4.99 on one of my thrifting journeys!

Here here is our spare bedroom, complete with a Mink fur blanket at the foot of the bed.  My grandfather brought this back from war to my grandmother and so it has been passed down to me. What a treasure! It’s my favorite blanket in the whole house! The only way to keep it nice is to keep it in the spare bedroom of course!

I found some other “winter bedrooms” on Pinterest and thought you might like to see what others are doing

Source: smwdesign.com via Melody on Pinterest

And note the fur blanket on this one too!

Source: johnsjournal-maria.blogspot.com via Melody on Pinterest

A fun idea if you lived in a cool loft… 

Source: 1kindesign.com via Melody on Pinterest

Or how about this one for glamour?

Source: google.com via Melody on Pinterest

And I definitely want to crawl into this one, don’t you?

Source: theenchantedhome.blogspot.com via Melody on Pinterest

I’ve got some great new projects on the horizon so be sure to stay tuned! And don’t forget about Wild Wednesday where you can show off your latest project! You could win a $5 Starbucks card just for entering your project! Our first winner is announced tomorrow!

Where I party:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Centsational Girl Debbie Do’s Blogging & Blabbling Organize & Decorate Everything House of Hepworths The Shabby Creek Cottage Finding Fabulous for Less! At the Picket Fence Tatertots & Jello Just a Girl  Too Much Time on My Hands Young & Crafty Funky Junk Interiors Savvy Southern Style Hope Studios Blue Cricket Design We are that Family Not Just a Housewife Tip Junkie The Thrifty Home Someday Crafts Beyond the Picket Fence From My Front Porch to Yours Thrifty Decor Chic A Stroll Through Life No Minimalist Here Tales from Bloggeritaville Thrifty Decor Chic DIY by Design Just a Girl Fingerprints on the Fridge My 1929 Charmer Under the Table and Dreaming Between Naps on the Front Porch    Dittle Dazzle  Finding Fabulous for Less!  At the Picket Fence  The DIY Showoff  Tatertots & Jello   I Heart Naptime  Too Much Time on My Hands  Young & Crafty  Funky Junk Interiors  Savvy Southern Style  Hope Studios  Blue Cricket Design We are that Family  Not Just a Housewife  Home Stories A to Z  Tip Junkie  Coastal Charm  Today’s Creative Blog  The Thrifty Home  Someday Crafts  Beyond the Picket Fence  From My Front Porch to Yours Southern Product Queen